h1

Carolina Chicken Salad

February 18, 2015

I’m still alive! My new job (well, I’ve been at it for 6 months now, so I guess I can’t really call it “new” anymore) is awesome. However… there are always a lot of different projects going at once, and I have to juggle many different problem solving possibilities in my head at a time, so it’s much more work mentally than my old job ever was. Which means my brain starts to feel pretty “used up” by the end of the day and I really don’t feel like blogging or doing much of anything else that takes mental energy. I love the work though! I’m really glad I took the leap – my unique IT/pharmacy skill set is perfect for this position.

Another thing that been keeping the blog way down on the priority list is… pregnancy! Yes, my husband and I finally decided in the fall that it would be a good time to start trying to have our first child, and we were one of those lucky couples for whom it didn’t take much time at all! I’m currently 21 weeks along, and our daughter is expected to arrive end of June/beginning of July. So far everything has been going really well – I barely got any morning sickness (just a slight touch if I got hungry, but having a snack took care of that right away), and no weird cravings or food/smell aversions. The one symptom I did experience during the first 3 months was a lot of tiredness. Not really the “I can barely keep my eyes open and I’m going to take a 3 hour nap” type, but more the “I sat down and I don’t have the motivation/energy to ever get up” type. Very similar feeling to when I had mono in the fall of 2013, just without the fever and strep throat on top of it. :) I guess having mono was actually good preparation for first trimester of pregnancy!

Because of the pregnancy, I decided it wouldn’t be prudent to give up anything food-related for Lent this year. Instead, I’m giving up Facebook and reading fanfiction. Those are currently my two biggest time-sucking activities online, so I’m trying to put what energy I do have into things that are more productive, like finally updating this blog, for example!

So this recipe is a yummy one from my childhood. I would guess that my dad probably got it out of Gourmet magazine or Bon Appetit however many years ago. It’s a great weeknight all-in-one dinner salad, since it’s got plenty of veggies and protein, and doesn’t take too long to put together. The dressing is both tangy and sweet, and the olives add a nice briny touch. My parents would usually use leftover cooked chicken, but I’ve picked up a rotisserie chicken on the way home specifically to use for this recipe… fast and easy. It’s supposed to be garnished with tomato wedges too, but I didn’t have any on hand the day I took this photo and my husband doesn’t really like big chunks of tomato anyway. Enjoy!

Carolina chicken salad

Serves 4

Ingredients

Dressing

  • 1/3  cup white wine vinegar
  • 1  tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 5  teaspoons sugar
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4  teaspoon salt
  • 1/2  cup vegetable oil

Salad

  • 1  small head leaf or romaine lettuce, torn
  • 2  cups shredded cooked chicken
  • 1/2  cup green olives, halved
  • 1/4  cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2  pound green beans

Garnishes

  • Halved green olives
  • Hard-boiled eggs
  • Tomato wedges

Directions

  1. Place all dressing ingredients in a shaker and shake well to combine.
  2. Steam green beans until crisp-tender.
  3. Meanwhile, mix chicken, olives, seeds, and ½ cup dressing in a small bowl. Add green beans to chicken mixture.
  4. Divide lettuce among 4 plates, and heap chicken/green bean mixture in center of each plate. Garnish each plate with additional olives, sliced hard-boiled eggs, and tomatoes. Drizzle with extra dressing and serve.

3 comments

  1. Welcome back to the blog…you were missed…and congrats on having a new little chef!


    • Thank you so much! :) I’m looking forward to teaching her how to cook and bake… I hope she enjoys it as much as i have!


  2. Glad to see you back! I can’t wait to meet the little miss!



Leave a Reply

