h1

Puffed Pancake with Strawberries

October 17, 2013

I hope this month’s end is better than its beginning and middle! When I arrived back from vacation, I found out that my partner at work was going to be having a minor surgery and would be out for a week and a half. There wasn’t much backup available for most of the time he was out, and I had previously signed up to teach a lecture at the local pharmacy college, so these past two weeks have been pretty hectic and I was feeling very run down by the end. Then I started feeling feverish last Thursday night… no big deal, I occasionally get a fever that lasts a day or two, and it was almost the weekend, so I figured I’d just ride it out and be fine by Monday. But Monday morning I was still feeling horribly fatigued, feverish, and swollen in my sinuses and lymph nodes, so it was time for a visit to the doctor. The final diagnosis? Mononucleosis.

So apparently unlike most of the world, I was not exposed to mono when I was a kid or even in college. How I ended up with it now is anyone’s guess. Could have been a drinking fountain, could be my husband had it as a kid and it reactivated and he started shedding the virus again, who knows. Either way, while I’m not feeling really “sick” anymore, I’m still super fatigued and I’m hoping this won’t be drawn out for months.

So here’s a bright and cheery brunch/dessert from the Bon Appetit Desserts cookbook. I made this earlier in the summer when strawberries were at their peak; I wish I could have a big bite right now! Just looking at those fresh strawberries makes me a feel a little happier.

Puffed pancake with strawberries

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1  pound small strawberries, hulled, sliced (about 1 2/3 cups)
  • 2  tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 3  tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 3/4  cup whole milk, room temperature
  • 3  large eggs, room temperature
  • 3/4  cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • Additional powdered sugar
  • Lemon wedges

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F. Stir strawberries and powdered sugar in medium bowl. Let stand at room temperature while preparing pancake.
  2. Melt butter in 10-inch-diameter ovenproof skillet (preferably cast-iron) over medium-high heat, swirling to coat bottom and sides of skillet. Blend milk and eggs in blender until smooth (I used a stick blender). Add flour and salt; blend batter until just incorporated. Pour batter into hot skillet.
  3. Transfer skillet to oven and bake pancake until puffed and golden in spots, about 11 minutes.
  4. Immediately cut pancake into quarters. Transfer 1 wedge to each of 4 plates. Spoon strawberries on top, dust with additional powdered sugar, garnish with lemon wedges, and serve.

Leave a Reply

