h1

Raspberry-Thyme Smash

September 4, 2013

I don’t exactly have super-extensive experience in the world of cocktails, but I usually try to sample a craft cocktail or two when I visit the more upscale restaurants in my area. Especially cocktails that include house-infused liquors or unique combinations of flavors; basically, things that I don’t have the equipment or inclination to make at home. Consequently, the cocktails I make at home never really taste that interesting, probably partly because my liquor cabinet still contains a lot of less-expensive brands of liquor from my graduate school days. I’m slowly starting to remedy this situation now that I can afford higher-end alcohol (and since I don’t actually drink all that often, a 750mL bottle of whatever ingredient will probably last several months).

So, starting to build up my luxury stash… I bought some Hendrick’s gin. I’ve run into several yummy-sounding drink recipes lately that specifically call for Hendrick’s, so why not. I found this one on Bon Appetit’s web site (originally published in the July 2008 issue). I had purchased raspberries earlier in the week, my garden is overrun with thyme, and the weather was hot… perfect time to try this summery drink.

I took one sip, and oh man. This is seriously one of the best cocktails I’ve ever tasted, and definitely the best I’ve ever made at home. Doesn’t taste too strongly of alcohol, perfectly balanced sweet and tart, and herby thyme flavor that complements the Hendrick’s (I can see why they specified that particular brand). My parents are usually wine rather than cocktail drinkers, but I made them each one of these for our Labor Day get-together and they loved it! :) I’ll definitely be making more of these the next time I have fresh raspberries on hand. Yum!

Raspberry-thyme smash

Makes 1 drink

Ingredients

  • 2  fresh thyme sprigs, divided
  • 7  fresh raspberries, divided
  • Ice cubes
  • 1/4  cup  (2 oz) Hendrick’s Gin
  • 2  tablespoons simple syrup (see directions)
  • 2  tablespoons fresh lime juice

Directions

  1. Simple syrup: Stir 1 cup sugar and 1 cup water in small saucepan over low heat until sugar dissolves. Bring to boil; cool. Cover and chill.
  2. Remove leaves from 1 thyme sprig; place in cocktail shaker. Add 6 berries; mash with muddler or wooden spoon. Fill cocktail shaker with ice; add gin, simple syrup, and lime juice. Cover; shake vigorously until cold. Strain into highball glass filled with ice. Thread 1 raspberry onto remaining thyme sprig; place on rim of glass.

Leave a Reply

