h1

Marinated Mozzarella

July 11, 2013

I love summer… I can just walk out into my backyard garden and have all the fresh herbs I need at my disposal! Definitely makes prepping food like these marinated mozzarella balls (bocconcini) super easy. I don’t have to remember which herbs are in my fridge, or worry about using them up before they go bad. I wish herbs were easier to grow indoors so I could have them available all winter long; unfortunately our house doesn’t have many windows that face sunlight for much of the day. (Not to mention upstate New York isn’t exactly the sunniest place on earth.) So I will continue to enjoy them throughout the summer, making as many fresh herb-y recipes as possible during the short season!

The flank steak salad I made a few days ago called for marinated mozzarella balls as a garnish, but my grocery store only had plain bocconcini in the olive bar section. I figured it couldn’t be too hard to make my own marinated bocconcini, though! A quick google search came up with this recipe on Martha Stewart’s web site, and the directions said the balls only had to marinate for 20 minutes. Perfect timing since I could start these first and then get the grill heated up and assemble the other ingredients I needed for the salad and dressing. The salad (and these bocconcini) turned out delicious! These would also make a great party appetizer as part of an olive tray. Enjoy!

Marinated mozzarella

Makes 1 pound

Ingredients

  • 1  pound fresh mozzarella bocconcini, drained
  • 3  tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1  teaspoon fresh thyme
  • 1  teaspoon finely chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1  teaspoon chopped fresh oregano
  • 1/4  teaspoon red-pepper flakes
  • Coarse salt
  • Freshly ground pepper

Directions

  1. Combine oil, herbs, red-pepper flakes, and salt and pepper to taste in a small bowl. Drizzle over mozzarella. Let stand for at least 20 minutes (or up to 1 hour).

Leave a Reply

