h1

Pork and Tomatillo Stew

June 7, 2013

I don’t remember what I was searching for, but last week I stumbled upon a blog titled The Gourmet Project – written by a woman named Teena who decided to cook her way through the Gourmet Cookbook (kind of like Julie & Julia)! She started in 2006 and cooked all 1293 recipes by the end of 2012, and now she’s starting on the sequel, Gourmet Today. Since Gourmet Today is one of my all-time favorite cookbooks that I use constantly, I’m so excited to read about her progress though it! As of her last post, she was about to have twins any day, so I suspect it’ll be a while before she gets back into the project. I would be so intimidated by giving myself a project like that; I tend to take the easy road with a lot of things because I’ve always been a perfectionist afraid of making mistakes. So I think it’s totally awesome that she persevered and made every single recipe. Certainly a big inspiration to me! :)

I decided to make this pork stew recipe (from Gourmet Today, what else?) because my husband bought a piece of organic pork roast on a whim, leaving me to decide what to do with it! It was only about 2 pounds, and most of my recipes for pork roast call for either tenderloin (which this piece wasn’t), or at least double the weight I had. I have no idea if the pork I had was shoulder (the package wasn’t very specific), but I figured it would work. The only extra thing I had to buy for this recipe was the tomatillos, which I’ve not used except to make salsa verde. They are kind of like small green tomatoes that have a loose husk covering them, and they leave an odd waxy feeling on your hands after you peel the husks off (I’ve had this even with organic tomatillos from a farm stand, so I assume it’s some component of the husk and not a pesticide or anything). At first I was skeptical of the amount of cilantro this recipe called for (a whole bunch, stems included??), but since it’s cooked along with the stew and not added at the end like many recipes are, it wasn’t as overpowering as I thought it would be.

Overall we really liked how this stew turned out! I cooked some brown rice to serve it over, and the sour cream on top provided just the right amount of added tanginess. A good recipe for a cool/rainy weekend, and then you’ll have a bunch of leftovers for during the week. Enjoy!

Pork and tomatillo stew

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 2  pounds boneless pork shoulder, trimmed and cut into 1½-inch cubes
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4  cup vegetable oil
  • 8  large garlic cloves
  • 1  (12-ounce) bottle dark beer
  • 1½  cups fresh orange juice (from about 5 oranges)
  • 1  pound tomatillos, husked, rinsed under warm water, and quartered
  • 1  (28-ounce) can whole tomatoes in juice, drained, juice reserved, and chopped
  • 2  large onions, coarsely chopped
  • 1  bunch fresh cilantro, root ends discarded, leaves and stems chopped
  • 2  jalapeno chiles, chopped, including seeds
  • 1  (14- to 19-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2  tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1  (8-ounce) container sour cream

Directions

  1. Pat pork dry and season with 1 teaspoon salt and ½ teaspoon pepper. Heat oil in a 6- to 8-quart heavy pot over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking. Add garlic and cook, stirring, until golden, about 2 minutes. Add pork in batches, without crowding, and cook, turning occasionally, until browned on all sides; transfer to a large bowl.
  2. Meanwhile, combine beer, orange juice, tomatillos, and tomatoes with juice in a 5- to 6-quart pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until tomatillos and tomatoes are soft, about 20 minutes. Remove from heat.
  3. When pork is browned, pour off all but 1 tablespoon oil from pot. Add onions and cook over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, until soft, about 8 minutes. Add tomatillo mixture, pork, cilantro, jalapenos, 1 teaspoon salt, and ½ teaspoon pepper and cook, stirring and scraping up browned bits, until well combined. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer, partially covered, stirring occasionally, until meat is very tender, about 2 hours.
  4. Season stew with salt and pepper to taste. Add black beans and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes.
  5. Stir lime juice into sour cream. Serve stew with rice, with sour cream on the side.

One comment

  1. […] Pork and Tomatillo Stew. Is your mouth watering yet? It should be! Stews and soups are my food groups come fall, but this […]



Leave a Reply

