h1

Parmesan Bread Pudding with Broccoli Rabe and Prosciutto

April 1, 2013

We didn’t go to Pennsylvania for Easter this year (we’re going down for my mother-in-law’s birthday later), so we were invited to my parents’ house for Easter dinner. Since my mom was making the main dish – smoked turkey – I offered to bring a side dish. Perfect timing for breaking my wheat flour Lenten fast – the April issue of Bon Appetit included this recipe for Parmesan bread pudding, which looked amazingly delicious.

I did make some modifications: the original recipe called for thinly sliced pancetta, but I couldn’t find any at the grocery store so I substituted prosciutto. I also didn’t have any Parmesan cheese in my refrigerator, but I had plenty of Parmigiano-Reggiano. Its flavor is a bit stronger and saltier than domestic Parmesan, and I should have proportionally cut down on the total amount of salt added to the egg mixture. The original recipe called for 2 teaspoons of kosher salt, so next time I make this, I’m going to cut it down to 1 teaspoon.

Overall I was super happy with how this bread pudding turned out; it tasted especially amazing after not eating any bread for 6 weeks! The pudding was also really easy to put together: not as many steps as my breakfast strata recipe because everything is tossed together rather than layered, and you don’t have to toast the bread before assembly. I’ll definitely be making this again sometime for an easy supper or maybe brunch!

Parmesan bread pudding

Serves 4 to 6

Ingredients

  • 1  tablespoon olive oil
  • 2  garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1/2  teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1  medium bunch broccoli rabe (rapini), trimmed and cut into ½-inch pieces
  • 1  teaspoon kosher salt plus more
  • 1/2  teaspoon freshly ground black pepper plus more
  • 6  large eggs
  • 1½  cups whole milk
  • 1/2  pound country-style white bread, cut in 1-inch pieces (about 8 cups)
  • 1/2  cup plus 2 tablespoons finely grated Parmigiano-Reggiano
  • 6  thin slices prosciutto

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and red pepper flakes. Stir until garlic is softened, about 30 seconds. Add broccoli rabe; season with salt and pepper. Cook, tossing, until wilted, about 2 minutes; remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk eggs, milk, 1 teaspoon kosher salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper in a large bowl to blend.Add broccoli rabe mixture, bread, and 1/2 cup cheese; toss to combine. Transfer to a 1½-quart baking dish. Top with prosciutto and remaining 2 tablespoons cheese.
  3. Bake pudding until puffed, browned in spots, and set in the center, 45 to 55 minutes. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

