h1

Gnocchi with Spinach, Ham, and Gorgonzola

June 1, 2012

I love gnocchi, the small Italian dumplings traditionally made with cooked potato, egg, and a small amount of flour. However, I rarely have time to make them myself, so I make do with vacuum-packed gnocchi from the store. This recipe comes from one of the 30 minute suppers magazines that America’s Test Kitchen publishes periodically. I always forget to look in my back issues when I’m planning suppers; I really need to remember to do that!

Whenever we make a recipe with spinach, it seems that we always have a partial bag leftover, which inevitably goes bad. This recipe is perfect for using up those last couple of ounces!  Normally I dislike blue cheese because I really can’t get past the knowledge (and taste) that I’m eating mold, but the flavor of the gorgonzola blends well with the rest of the ingredients in this dish. The cheese melts into a creamy sauce, making it not overwhelmingly “blue” tasting or chunky.

Serve with a simple side salad and you have a quick and easy weeknight supper!

Gnocchi with spinach, ham, and gorgonzola

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • Salt and pepper
  • 1  pound vacuum-packed gnocchi
  • 2  tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6  slices deli ham, cut into ¼-inch strips
  • 2  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4  cup toasted pine nuts
  • 3/4  cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • 1  teaspoon lemon juice
  • 2  ounces baby spinach

Directions

  1. Bring 4 quarts water to boil in large pot. Add 1 tablespoon salt and gnocchi and cook until tender and floating, about 4 minutes. Drain gnocchi, reserving 1/2 cup cooking water.
  2. Heat oil in large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add gnocchi to skillet and cook until browned, about 4 minutes. Stir in ham and cook until it begins to brown, 2 to 4 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  3. Add reserved cooking water, pine nuts, cheese, and lemon juice to skillet and stir until cheese starts to melt and sauce becomes creamy. Add spinach and stir until just wilted, 1 to 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

4 comments

  1. Hi Adrienne, is there a particular brand of gnocchi that you like to use?


    • Hi Pam! I don’t have a huge range of experience with different brands, although I’ve been happy using the plain Wegmans Italian Classics vacuum-packed gnocchi. I haven’t tried the mini or the whole wheat versions yet.


  2. This was delicious! I cooked a ham yesterday and had leftovers, so I figured I would give this a try. I didn’t have pine nuts on hand, so I used unsalted sunflower seeds as a garnish (which actually worked very well). Thank you so much for the recipe. :)


    • You are very welcome! Glad you enjoyed it. I actually didn’t have pine nuts either when I made it – I think I used walnuts. Pine nuts are sooo expensive, sometimes it’s hard to justify!



Leave a Reply

