h1

Crispy Veggie Fritters

June 28, 2011

This is another old photo I found on my computer, and I remember these veggie fritters being really good when I made them last summer! (All ingredients from the CSA box, of course!) The recipe isn’t from any of my usual cookbooks – it’s from Relaxed Cooking with Curtis Stone, which I had checked out from the library because of the mouth-watering photos contained within. Although the few recipes I tried from the book were great, it’s not the type of cookbook I would normally buy because it’s a not a large compendium with an enormous variety like Gourmet Today or Fast Easy Fresh. However, I did make several photocopies and this recipe was one of them!

I’m not sure if I wasn’t using the right technique with a julienne peeler (or maybe I just got a bad model of peeler), but julienning the vegetables took a lot of physical effort, and I was constantly afraid that I was going to julienne my hand! I was considering buying a mandoline slicer (with a julienne attachment), but I wasn’t sure how much use I’d really get out of it and I don’t have much storage space left for kitchen items. Any good tips on using a hand-held julienne peeler? That was definitely the part that took the longest with this recipe – otherwise I think I’d probably make these a lot more often because they were delicious!

Vegetable fritters

Makes 8-12 fritters

Ingredients

  • 1  russet potato, peeled
  • 1  carrot, peeled
  • 1  zucchini, ends trimmed
  • 1  onion, halved and very thinly sliced
  • 2  teaspoons sea salt
  • 2  large eggs
  • Black pepper
  • Olive oil
  • 1/2-3/4  cup sour cream
  • Minced fresh dill to taste

Directions

  1. Cut the potato, carrot, and zucchini into long thin strips using a julienne peeler. Toss the strips, onion, and sea salt together in a colander and let sit for 10 minutes. Squeeze and much moisture as you can out of the veggies.
  2. Lightly beat the eggs and 1/4 teaspoon pepper together in a medium bowl, then mix in the veggies.
  3. Heat 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil in a large skillet or griddle over medium-high heat. Using about 1/4 cup of the veggie-egg mixture for each fritter, spoon mixture onto the hot pan to form thin patties about 3 inches in diameter. Fry for about 4 minutes on each side or until the fritters are golden and crisp on the outside. Transfer to paper-towel-lined plate.
  4. Stir the sour cream and dill together, season with pepper to taste, and serve alongside the fritters.

One comment

  1. […] belong in the same sentence, but one bite of these and you will fall in love with them. Unlike the crispy veggie fritters that I posted a couple of weeks ago, these pancakes are more batter-like and so the texture is much […]



Leave a Reply

