h1

Open-face Crab and Artichoke Melts

June 17, 2011

One hurdle I’m attempting to overcome is learning to compromise/improvise when my kitchen is lacking ingredients. I’ve always been the type to follow directions to the letter, so when I cook, I tend to immediately pass over recipes that call for ingredients that I don’t have on hand, no matter how minor they may be. While many times this is necessary (can’t make basil pesto if you have no fresh basil!), recipes such as the one below call for items such as sourdough bread when all I had were English muffins and hamburger buns.

This recipe is from Bon Appetit’s Fast Easy Fresh cookbook, which is a fantastic cookbook for those of us that work full time. Unlike many other “quick and easy” cookbooks, I really appreciate that this one does not rely on a lot of packaged or canned foods in its recipes. I’ve been using it a lot more now since I started my new job, and so far everything I’ve made has been excellent! These open-face melts were super easy and fast to put together, and they were delicious even without the sourdough bread! Paninis and melts are my favorite types of sandwiches – I can’t pass up anything with melted cheese. I also couldn’t pass up the fresh plum tomatoes at the market, and the parsley in our garden has been getting exponentially bigger by the week. In addition to these melts, I think I see some tabbouleh in our very near future!

Crab and artichoke melts

Makes 8

Ingredients

  • 2  cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese (about 6 ounces)
  • 1 1/2  cups mayonnaise
  • 1 1/3  cups chopped onion
  • 12  ounces fresh crabmeat, picked over and patted dry
  • 1  13- to 14-ounce can quartered artichoke hearts in water, drained and chopped
  • 1/2  cup plus 2 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
  • 8  3/4-inch-thick slices sourdough bread (each about 5×3 inches)
  • 4  plum tomatoes, sliced
  • 6  ounces Monterey jack cheese, thinly sliced

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Combine Parmesan, mayonnaise, onion, crabmeat, artichoke hearts, and 1/2 cup parsley in a large bowl.
  2. Transfer crab mixture to 8x8x2 glass baking dish and bake uncovered until bubbling and heated through, about 25 minutes.
  3. Preheat broiler. Place bread in single layer on large baking sheet. Divide hot crab mixture among bread slices (about generous 1/2 cup each). Top with tomato slices, then cheese.
  4. Broil until cheese melts, watching carefully to avoid burning, about 2 minutes. Sprinkle with remaining 2 tablespoons parsley and serve.

Leave a Reply

