h1

Roasted Savoy Cabbage with Raisins

March 19, 2011

We celebrated St. Patrick’s Day two days late this year due to my work schedule, and my husband confessed to me today that he has never eaten real corned beef! (The canned corned beef that I use to make hash doesn’t count – recipe for that coming sometime soon.) However, as I did not corn the beef brisket myself but simply followed the Wegmans package directions for braising it, I’m focusing on the non-traditional cabbage that I made as the accompaniment. I came across this recipe last summer in Gourmet Today when I was looking for ways to use the savoy cabbage I had received in my CSA box, and it was an instant hit. Using peanut oil rather than regular vegetable oil to saute the cabbage is essential to create the slightly nutty flavor in the background, and the raisins provide a slight sweetness to round out the flavors. I recommend starting the raisins soaking first before chopping the cabbage or prepping the other ingredients, as they need to soak for about a half hour before being added to the cabbage. Overall, this made for an extremely delicious belated St. Patrick’s Day feast!

Roasted savoy cabbage

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2  tablespoons golden raisins
  • 2 1/2  tablespoons peanut oil
  • 1  large head savoy cabbage (about 2 1/2 pounds), quartered, cored, and chopped into large pieces
  • 3/4  teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  ground black pepper
  • 3  tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2  fresh thyme springs

Directions

  1. Soak raisins in very hot water to cover in a small bowl for about 30 minutes, replacing hot water once or twice as it becomes tepid.
  2. Meanwhile, place a rack in middle of oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Heat oil in a 12-inch heavy ovenproof skillet or pot over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking. Add cabbage in 5 batches, adding some salt and pepper with each batch, stirring and adding next batch as previous batch begins to wilt. (Some cabbage will brown.) Add butter and thyme and cook, stirring frequently, until all cabbage is wilted, about 3 minutes. Drain raisins in a sieve and add to cabbage.
  3. Transfer skillet to oven and roast uncovered, stirring every 10 minutes, until cabbage is tender, 30 to 40 minutes. Discard thyme sprigs and serve.

One comment

  1. […] and of course the apples themselves. I served the pork along with mashed root vegetables and roasted savoy cabbage, two of my favorite vegetable sides. Overall a fantastic start for what I hope will be a fantastic […]



Leave a Reply

